Home Constitutional Court of Georgia

Constitutional Court of Georgia

Source: Constitutional Court of Georgia

The Constitutional Court of Georgia was established in 1996. The legal basis of its organisation and activity is the Constitution of Georgia, the Organic Law of Georgia “On the Constitutional Court of Georgia”, the Law of Georgia “On the Constitutional Legal Proceedings” and the Rules of the Constitutional Court. The Constitutional Court of Georgia consists of 9 judges. All three branches of state powers participate in the formation of the Constitutional Court on an equal basis. The term of office of a member of the Constitutional Court is ten years.

For more details, please visit the webpage of the Constitutional Court of Georgia.

Georgia declared its independence on April 9, 1991. It is a country in the Caucasus region of Eurasia. Located at the crossroads of Western Asia and Eastern Europe, it is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the southeast by Azerbaijan. The capital and largest city is Tbilisi. Georgia covers a territory of 69,700 km2 with a population of 3.7 million. Georgia is a unitary, semi-presidential republic. The official language of the state is Georgian.