Home Constitutional Court of Ukraine

Constitutional Court of Ukraine

Source: Constitutional Court of Ukraine

The Constitutional Court of Ukraine is the sole body of constitutional jurisdiction in Ukraine. The Law of Ukraine “On the Constitutional Court of Ukraine” adopted on October 16, 1996 sets forth that the task of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine is to guarantee the supremacy of the Constitution of Ukraine as the Fundamental Law of the State throughout the territory of Ukraine. The Constitutional Court of Ukraine consists of 18 judges. The President of Ukraine, Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine and Congress of Judges of Ukraine each appoint six judges.

For more details, please visit the webpage of the Constitutional Court of Ukraine.

Ukraine adopted its Act of Independence on 24 August 1991. Ukraine is a sovereign state in Eastern Europe, bordered by Russia to the east and northeast, Belarus to the northwest, Poland and Slovakia to the west, Hungary, Romania, and Moldova to the southwest, and the Black Sea and Sea of Azov to the south and southeast. Ukraine has an area of 603,628 km2, making it the largest country in Europe. It is a unitary republic under a semi-presidential system, with Ukrainian as its official language.